Canada Announces Roster for the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament

Hockey Canada announced the 22 man roster that will go for a ninth straight gold medal at the 2016 Ivan Hlinka Memorial set to begin August 8 and run thru to August 13, 2016.

The Ontario Hockey League is well represented, making up half the roster led by Windsor Spitfires goaltender Michael DiPietro. To no surprise from this writer, three players not eligible until the 2018 National Hockey League Draft made the final cut. They are: London Knights’ defenceman Evan Bouchard, Mississauga Steelheads’ forward Ryan McLeod and from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, Joseph Veleno of the Saint John Sea Dogs

Player Pos Club Draft
Michael DiPietro G Windsor (OHL) 2017
Ian Scott G Prince Albert (WHL) 2017
Evan Bouchard D London (OHL) 2018
Antoine Crête-Belzile D Blainville-Boisbriand (QMJHL) 2017
Ian Mitchell D Spruce Grove (AJHL) 2017
Jacob Paquette D Kingston (OHL) 2017
Markus Phillips D Owen Sound (OHL) 2017
Elijah Roberts D Kitchener (OHL) 2017
Jonathan Smart D Kelowna (WHL) 2017
Jordy Bellerive F Lethbridge (WHL) 2017
Shane Bowers F Waterloo (USHL) 2017
Maxime Comtois F Victoriaville (QMJHL) 2017
MacKenzie Entwistle F Hamilton (OHL) 2017
Stelio Mattheos F Brandon (WHL) 2017
Ryan McLeod F Mississauga (OHL) 2018
Greg Meireles F Ottawa (CCHL) 2017
Michael Rasmussen F Tri-City (WHL) 2017
Matthew Strome F Hamilton (OHL) 2017
Jack Studnicka F Oshawa (OHL) 2017
Nick Suzuki F Owen Sound (OHL) 2017
Owen Tippett F Mississauga (OHL) 2017
Joseph Veleno F Saint John (QMJHL) 2018

Hlinka Schedule

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s