Canada’s Selection Camp for the 2016 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Begins

While the Americans. along with Sweden, Switzerland and Slovakia have finalized their rosters for the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament, Team Canada’s selection camp began today and will run until August 2nd in Calgary Alberta.

Hockey CanadaSeventeen of the forty four players taking part are from the Ontario Hockey League including Windsor Spitfires’ goaltender Michael DiPietro. Battling DiPeitro for one of the goaltending spots is Jacob McGrath of St Michaels of the Ontario Junior Hockey League. Ian Blacker (Oakville) and Jakob Brahaney (Kingston), two of sixteen defencemen battling for a spot, join McGrath from the OJHL.

Four players participating are not eligible for the National Hockey League Draft until 2018. They include  defencemen Evan Bouchard (London Knights) and Jeremy Groleau (Chicoutimi/QMJHL) along with forwards Ryan McLeod (Mississauga Steelheads) and Joseph Veleno (Saint John/QMJHL).

Canada will play a pre tournament game against the Czech Republic on August 6th. Cuts will happen before then but the roster may not be finalized until that meeting with the Czechs.

Here is a list of players participating in the camp:

Name Club Team Draft
Michael DiPietro Windsor (OHL) 2017
Jacob McGrath St. Michael’s (OJHL) 2017
Ian Scott Prince Albert (WHL) 2017
Matt Welsh Charlottetown (QMJHL) 2017
Ian Blacker Oakville (OJHL) 2017
Evan Bouchard London (OHL) 2018
Jakob Brahaney Kingston (OJHL) 2017
Josh Brook Moose Jaw (WHL) 2017
Antoine Crête-Belzile Blainville-Boisbriand (QMJHL) 2017
Hayden Davis Niagara (OHL) 2017
Walter Flower Halifax (QMJHL) 2017
Brayden Gorda Edmonton (WHL) 2017
Jérémy Groleau Chicoutimi (QMJHL) 2018
Brady Lyle North Bay (OHL) 2017
Ian Mitchell Spruce Grove (AJHL) 2017
Jacob Paquette Kingston (OHL) 2017
Markus Phillips Owen Sound (OHL) 2017
Elijah Roberts Kitchener (OHL) 2017
Jonathan Smart Kelowna (WHL) 2017
Scott Walford Victoria (WHL) 2017
Jaret Anderson-Dolan Spokane (WHL) 2017
Jordy Bellerive Lethbridge (WHL) 2017
Shawn Boudrias Charlottetown (QMJHL) 2017
Shane Bowers Waterloo (USHL) 2017
Maxime Comtois Victoriaville (QMJHL) 2017
Brett Davis Lethbridge (WHL) 2017
MacKenzie Entwistle Hamilton (OHL) 2017
Brady Gilmour Saginaw (OHL) 2017
Cody Glass Portland (WHL) 2017
Austen Keating Ottawa (OHL) 2017
Jake Leschyshyn Regina (WHL) 2017
Stelio Mattheos Brandon (WHL) 2017
Ryan McLeod Mississauga (OHL) 2018
Greg Meireles Ottawa (CCHL) 2017
Antoine Morand Acadie-Bathurst (QMJHL) 2017
Michael Rasmussen Tri-City (WHL) 2017
Isaac Ratcliffe Guelph (OHL) 2017
Matthew Strome Hamilton (OHL) 2017
Jack Studnicka Oshawa (OHL) 2017
Nick Suzuki Owen Sound (OHL) 2017
Joël Teasdale Blainville-Boisbriand (QMJHL) 2017
Owen Tippett Mississauga (OHL) 2017
Joseph Veleno Saint John (QMJHL) 2018
Gabe Vilardi Windsor (OHL) 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s