The QMJHL unveils roster and coaches for the 2016 CIBC Canada Russia Series

BOUCHERVILLE, Wednesday, October 26, 2016 – The Canadian Hockey League in association with the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, the Chicoutimi Saguenéens and the Baie-Comeau Drakkar announced today the roster composition of the QMJHL all-star team to play Team Russia as part of the 2016 CIBC Canada Russia Series.


The Saguenéens will host the first game of the series to be held at the Georges-Vézina Centre, Tuesday, November 15, while the Drakkar host the second game to be presented at the Henry-Leonard Center on Thursday November 17.

Dominique Ducharme, General Manager and Head Coach of the Drummondville Voltigeurs, will work as Head Coach behind the bench for both games of team QMJHL. Yannick Jean, head coach of the Chicoutimi Saguenéens will support Ducharme as assistant coach. Martin Bernard, head coach of the Drakkar, will also assist Ducharme for the two games.

Dominique Ducharme won a gold medal as an assistant coach of the National Men’s Summer Under-18 team at Canada’s 2013 Memorial Tournament of Ivan Hlinka. Ducharme joined the Voltigeurs after spending the last five seasons with the Halifax Mooseheads, who led the team to its first MasterCard Memorial Cup championship in 2013. Ducharme played seven seasons of professional hockey from 1995 to 2002 particularly in the ECHL, AHL and in Europe.

The three CHL leagues selected a committee who worked hard with Hockey Canada to select the players. A total of 21 players have been chosen. The starting roster for each games will be announced on a future date.

Here is the complete lineup for the 2016 CIBC Canada Russia Series of the CHL :

Goaltenders (2):
Callum Booth (Quebec Remparts)
Evan Fitzpatrick (Sherbrooke Phoenix)

Defencemen (8):
Frederic Allard (Chicoutimi Sagueneens)
Simon Bourque (Rimouski Oceanic)
Guillaume Brisebois (Charlottetown Islanders)
Samuel Girard (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Jeremy Lauzon (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Nicolas Meloche (Gatineau Olympiques)
Philippe Myers (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Jeremy Roy (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)

Forwards (12):
Alex Barre-Boulet (Drummondville Voltigeurs)
Jean-Christophe Beaudin (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Maxime Comtois (Victoriaville Tigres)
Alex Dostie (Gatineau Olympiques)
Pierre-Luc Dubois (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)
Gabriel Fontaine (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Alexandre Fortin (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Julien Gauthier (Val-d’Or Foreurs)
Brandon Gignac (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Pascal Laberge (Victoriaville Tigres)
Mathieu Joseph (Saint John Sea Dogs)
Nicolas Roy (Chicoutimi Sagueneens)

The 2016 CIBC Canada Russia series is supported by title sponsor and Official Bank of the CHL, CIBC, and CHL associate sponsors Cooper Tire, and Sherwin-Williams.  All games will be broadcast nationally on Sportsnet and TVA Sports.

2016 CIBC Canada Russia Series Schedule:

Game 1 – Monday November 7 at Prince George, BC

Game 2 – Tuesday November 8 at Edmonton, AB

Game 3 – Thursday November 10 at North Bay, ON

Game 4 – Monday November 14 at Hamilton, ON

Game 5 – Tuesday November 15 at Chicoutimi, QC

Game 6 – Thursday November 17 at Baie-Comeau, QC

For event information including how to purchase tickets please visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s