OHL Announces 2015-16 Regular Season Award Winners

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the recipients of four of the league’s annual awards following the conclusion of the 2015-16 regular season.


Offensively, San Jose Sharks prospect Kevin Labanc of the Barrie Colts captured the league’s scoring title earning the Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy and Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy presented to the Top Scoring Right Winger.  The other two awards recognize defensive efforts including the Dave Pinkney Trophy for the goaltending tandem of the team with the fewest goals against won by Tyler Parsons and Brendan Burke of the London Knights, and the F.W “Dinty” Moore Trophy awarded to Michael DiPietro of the Windsor Spitfires as the rookie with the best goals-against-average.

 Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy (Scoring Champion) and Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy (Top Scoring Right Winger): Kevin Labanc, Barrie Colts:

Kevin Labanc scored 39 goals and 88 assists for 127 points in 65 games to lead all OHL players while setting a franchise single season points record.

 The 20-year-old from Staten Island, NY, recorded 42 multi-point games during the 2015-16 campaign and surpassed his own Colts record for assists in a season helping Barrie capture their second straight Central Division title.

 He becomes just the second member of the Colts to win both awards following Sheldon Keefe in 1999-2000 who previously held the club’s single season scoring mark with 121 points in 66 games.

 Labanc was originally chosen by the Colts in the sixth round of the 2011 OHL Priority Selection before joining the club in 2013.  The three-year veteran played in 198 career games accumulating 269 points which ranks fourth among Barrie’s all-time greats.  Labanc recently signed his entry-level contract with the Sharks who chose him in the sixth round of the 2014 NHL Draft.

 The Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy was donated by the Toronto Marlboro Athletic Club in memory of Eddie Powers and was first awarded in 1945-46 to Tod Sloan of St. Michael’s who scored 79 points in 25 games.  Dylan Strome of the Erie Otters was last year’s recipient with 129 points in 68 games scoring 45 goals and 84 assists.  Other notable winners include Taylor Hall and Tyler Seguin who tied for the league’s scoring title before being chosen first and second overall respectively in 2010, while fellow first overall NHL picks John Tavares (2009), and Patrick Kane (2007) are also recent winners.

 The Jim Mahon Trophy was first presented following the 1971-72 season by the players and management of the Peterborough Petes in memory of their right winger Jim Mahon who was accidentally killed that summer.  Mitch Marner of the London Knights was last year’s recipient with 126 points in 63 games scoring 44 goals and 82 assists.

 Dave Pinkney Trophy (Lowest Team Goals Against): Tyler Parsons and Brendan Burke, London Knights

 The London Knights allowed the fewest goals in the OHL this season with just 182 against, backstopped by the tandem of Tyler Parsons and Brendan Burke.

 Parsons, an 18-year-old from Chesterfield, Michigan, led the league with a 2.33 goals-against-average and also posted a league-high save percentage of .921.  The sophomore is eligible for the 2016 NHL Draft and carried a record of 37-9-2-1 with four shutout victories for the Knights who finished one point shy of a Midwest Division and regular season crown.  Sharing the duties in goal was Burke, a 21-year-old from Paradise Valley, Arizona, who carried a record of 10-4-0-0 with one shutout along with a goals-against-average of 2.95 and save percentage of .896.  The Arizona Coyotes prospect joined the OHL midway through the season after playing over four seasons in the Western Hockey League.

 The Dave Pinkney Trophy is awarded annually to the goaltending tandem from the team that allows the fewest goals against during the regular season.  Last season, the Oshawa Generals allowed just 157 goals against with Ken Appleby and Jeremy Brodeur between the pipes.

 This marks the fourth time the Knights have captured the award and first since the 2004-05 champion club backstopped by Gerald Coleman and Adam Dennis allowed a record-low 125 goals against.

 F.W. “Dinty” Moore Trophy (Best Rookie GAA): Michael DiPietro, Windsor Spitfires

 Michael DiPietro had the best goals-against-average among OHL rookie goaltenders with a mark of 2.45 this season becoming the first Windsor Spitfires netminder to earn the award.

 A 16-year-old from Amherstburg, ON, DiPietro was chosen in the second round by the Spitfires in the 2015 OHL Priority Selection.  The rookie played to a 16-8-1-1 record with two shutout victories while posting a save percentage of .912.  His goals-against-average not only led all rookies, but was third best in the entire league while his save percentage was the fourth best overall mark.

 The trophy is named after F.W. “Dinty” Moore of Port Colborne, ON, who served as OHA President from 1942-45.  In order to qualify for this rookie award, a goaltender must play a minimum of 900 minutes.  Michael McNiven of the Owen Sound Attack won the award last season with a 2.79 goals-against-average, while Alex Nedeljkovic was the last 16-year-old rookie to earn the award after posting an impressive mark of 2.28 with the Plymouth Whalers in 2012-13.

 The 2016 OHL Playoffs begin on Thursday March 24, visit www.ontariohockeyleague.com for all first round matchups and schedules.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s