2017-18 Minor Midget Player of the Year Awards presented at OHL Cup Banquet


Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the seven recipients of Minor Hockey Player of the Year Awards for players representing the four Ontario Hockey Federation Member Partners including the ALLIANCE, Greater Toronto Hockey League, Northern Ontario Hockey Association, and both the Ontario Minor Hockey Association’s ETA and SCTA regions, along with Hockey Eastern Ontario, and Hockey Northwestern Ontario.

Six of the seven Player of the Year award winners are currently competing at the 2018 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament powered by Under Armour including Matthew Maggio of the Sun County Panthers (ALLIANCE), Jamie Drysdale of the Toronto Marlboros (GTHL), Michael Stubbs of the Thunder Bay Kings (HNO), Pacey Schlueting of the North Bay Trappers (NOHA), Quinton Byfield of the York Simcoe Express (OMHA ETA), and Cameron Tolnai of the Oakville Rangers (OMHA SCTA).  Josh Barnes of the Cornwall Colts (HEO) was also recognized among the Minor Midget recipients.

“Congratulations to all seven award winners, their families, coaches, and teammates for a tremendous hockey season,” said Daniel Broussard, the OHL’s Director of Recruitment, who presented the awards on Thursday night. “I’ve had the privilege of getting to know these young men and the awards are a true testament to their hard work and leadership. The OHL is proud to help recognize the achievements of great players from across Ontario and wish all young men the best of luck as they prepare for the next step in their hockey and academic careers.”

The award recipients consist of five forwards and two defencemen.  Up front and down the middle, Byfield led all winners as well as the OMHA’s ETA in points with 92 in 34 games scoring 48 goals and 44 assists helping the Express capture an OMHA championship.  In the OMHA’s SCTA, Tolnai was second in league scoring with 80 points in 35 games including 31 goals and 49 assists as the Rangers played to an undefeated regular season.  Playing in HEO’s Midget AAA league, Barnes finished second in scoring with 26 goals and 26 assists for 52 points in 39 games, while Stubbs produced 12 goals and eight assists for 20 points in 17 games to lead the HNO Kings.  Maggio finished tied for second in ALLIANCE scoring with 44 points in 33 games on the wing with 20 goals and 24 assists.  On defence, Drysdale tied for the province lead in scoring from the back end with 50 points in 57 games including eight goals and 42 assists for the GTHL champion Marlboros, while Schlueting finished second in scoring at his position in the Great North Midget League tallying 34 points in 24 games with 13 goals and 21 assists for the Trappers.

The awards were presented at the OHL Cup Showcase Tournament Banquet for the eighth straight year recognizing the achievements of the top minor midget aged players from across Ontario.  The awards are presented annually to honour the minor midget players who best exemplify outstanding ability and the qualities of sportsmanship and leadership as voted by the minor hockey coaches, managers and organizations of each respective league.

Past Award Winners:

ALLIANCE Player of the Year:

2018 – Matthew Maggio, Sun County Panthers

2017 – Ryan Suzuki, London Jr. Knights

2016 – Owen Lalonde, Windsor Jr. Spitfires

2015 – Nick Suzuki, London Jr. Knights

2014 – Anthony Salinitri, Windsor Jr. Spitfires

2013 – Travis Konecny, Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs

2012 – Jared McCann, London Jr. Knights Gold

2011 – Bo Horvat, Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs

GTHL Player of the Year:

2018 – Jamie Drysdale, Toronto Marlboros

2017 – Nick Porco, Vaughan Kings

2016 – Ryan Merkley, Toronto Jr. Canadiens

2015 – Ryan McLeod, Toronto Marlboros

2014 – Adam Mascherin, Vaughan Kings

2013 – Dylan Strome, Toronto Marlboros

2012 – Connor McDavid, Toronto Marlboros

2011 – Nick Ritchie, Toronto Marlboros

HEO Player of the Year:

2018 – Josh Barnes, Cornwall Colts

2017 – Alexandre Hogue, Cumberland Grads U18

2016 – Paul Larabie, Nepean Raiders

2015 – Gabriel Vilardi, CIH Academy

2014 – William Bitten, Ottawa Jr. 67’s

2013 – Andrew Peski, Ottawa Jr. 67’s

2012 – Andrew Abou-Assaly, Ottawa Jr. 67’s

2011 – Nicholas Baptiste, Ottawa Senators

HNO Player of the Year:

2018 – Michael Stubbs, Thunder Bay Kings

2017 – Christian Cicigoi, Thunder Bay Kings

2016 – Quintin Loon-Stewardson, Thunder Bay Kings

2015 – Kyle Auger, Thunder Bay Kings

2014 – Brad Belisle, Thunder Bay Kings

2013 – Zach Grzelewski, Thunder Bay Kings

2012 – Bryce Martyn, Thunder Bay Kings

2011 – Nolan Nicholas, Thunder Bay Kings

NOHA Player of the Year:

2018 – Pacey Schlueting, North Bay Trappers

2017 – Camaryn Baber, Soo Midget Greyhounds

2016 – Damien Giroux, Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves

2015 – Cayse Ton, New Liskeard Cubs

2014 – Zach Dorval, Soo Thunder

2013 – Blake Speers, Soo Thunder

2012 – Michael Amadio, Sault Ste. Marie North Stars

2011 – Ryan Kujawinski, Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves

OMHA ETA Player of the Year:

2018 – Quinton Byfield, York Simcoe Express

2017 – Alex Newhook, York Simcoe Express

2016 – Aidan Dudas, North Central Predators

2015 – Brady Gilmour, Quinte Red Devils

2014 – Chris Paquette, Greater Kingston Jr Frontenacs

OMHA SCTA Player of the Year:

2018 – Cameron Tolnai, Oakville Rangers

2017 – Matthew Dunsmoor, Guelph Jr. Gryphons

2016 – Adam McMaster, Niagara North Stars

2015 – Liam Stevens, Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs

2014 – Rylee St Onge, Niagara North Stars

*prior to 2014 there was a single OMHA Player of the Year award recipient

Past OMHA Players of the Year:

2013 – Matt Spencer, Oakville Rangers*

2012 – Nik Coric, York Simcoe Express*

2011 – Alex Yuill, Quinte Red Devils*

For more information please visit www.ohlcup.ca.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s