Vote for the Canadian Hockey League’s Team of the Century


Toronto, ON – In celebration of the 100th edition of the Mastercard Memorial Cup, the Canadian Hockey League is asking fans to cast their vote for the Team of the Century. 

The online voting platform hosted at features photos, rosters, and tournament recaps for the first 99 Memorial Cup champions who represent the candidates eligible for the distinction of CHL Team of the Century. 

The voting process permits users to select up to four Memorial Cup champions from across all three leagues / regions up to 10 times per day.  In order to vote, users must login to an active CHL Fanbase account.  New users can register at 

Every vote cast provides fans the opportunity to win great prizes including a grand prize trip for two to the 2019 Memorial Cup including transportation, accommodations, and tickets to the Semi-Final and Championship Final. 

The first round of voting is open through April 29 at which point the top team in each league / region plus one wild card entry will advance to the final round of voting that commences May 1 and continues through May 15.  The winning team will be announced as part of the centennial celebration at the 2018 Mastercard Memorial Cup. 

The CHL Team of the Century vote is the latest initiative to commemorate the historic 100th Mastercard Memorial Cup celebration.  Other initiatives this season have included the creation and sale of a Commemorative Coin in partnership with CIBC, a Memorial Cup Trophy Tour that visited 17 CHL communities in eight different provinces from November 18 through March 17, and a Champions Video Series to share stories and highlight moments of glory from some of history’s most memorable victories. 

The centennial celebration at the 2018 Mastercard Memorial Cup will take place May 17-27, 2018, and will feature the host Regina Pats who competed in the very first Memorial Cup championship in 1919, along with the 2018 champions from the Western Hockey League, the Ontario Hockey League, and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. 

The Memorial Cup has a rich tradition that has shaped the way junior hockey is played in North America.  The trophy was original known as the OHA Memorial Cup and was donated by the Ontario Hockey Association in March, 1919, in remembrance of the many soldiers who paid the supreme sacrifice for Canada in the First Wold War.  In 2010 the Memorial Cup was rededicated to the memory of all fallen Canadian Military Personnel. 

The 2018 Mastercard Memorial Cup is proudly supported by Mastercard, title sponsor of this event for 20 straight years.  Associate sponsors include CIBC and Cooper Tires.  All games will be broadcast by Sportsnet and TVA Sports. 

For more information please visit or join the conversation on social media using #MMC100.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s