Nelson, Ty

Toronto, Ont. – With 2020 OHL Awards announcements getting underway today, the OHL is pleased to recognize North Bay Battalion first overall OHL Priority Selection choice Ty Nelson as this year’s Jack Ferguson Award recipient.

The ‘Fergie’ recognizes the dedication and contributions made by Jack Ferguson during his 25 year association with the OHL, first as a scout with the Ottawa 67’s and followed by his appointment as head of the OHL’s Central Scouting Bureau in 1981 as its Director of Central Scouting.

“It is an absolute honour to win such a prestigious award,” Nelson said of his name being engraved on the hardware. “I want to start by thanking my parents Rick and Tracy along with my sister Peyton. Without their sacrifice and dedication this truly wouldn’t be possible. Thank you to Mr. Abbott and his family and the whole North Bay organization. I would also like to thank my past teachers and coaches who have helped me out along the way.

“To have my named mentioned with elite players such as Jason Spezza, John Tavares, Steven Stamkos, Aaron Ekblad, Connor McDavid and Jakob Chychrun is very special,” he added. “I’m super excited to be a part of the North Bay community and franchise.”

Selected first overall by the North Bay Battalion in last month’s 2020 OHL Priority Selection, Nelson led the GTHL champion Toronto Jr. Canadiens from the blue line, pacing all defenders with 32 points (11-21–32) per 33 games before leading the way in playoff scoring amongst GTHL rearguards with 12 points (1-11–12) over 11 outings. The 16-year-old Toronto native was a member of Canada’s bronze medal-winning team that competed at the 2020 Youth Olympic Winter Games in Lausanne, Switzerland this past January. A swift-skating, puck-moving defenceman that stands 5-foot-8 and 174Ibs., Nelson was born March 30, 2004, making him eligible for the 2022 NHL Draft.

“The North Bay Battalion are looking forward to having Ty Nelson join our young, talented group of players,” said Battalion general manager Adam Dennis. “We feel that he is ready to make an impact immediately with his fast paced style and high-end character. Ty is very deserving of the Jack Ferguson Award and joins an impressive list of past winners. We would like to congratulate Ty and his family on receiving this prestigious award.”

Nelson becomes the second member of the Battalion franchise to receive the award following defenceman Jay Harrison, who was the Brampton Battalion’s first-ever draft pick back in 1998. He’s the first defenceman selected first overall since another Jr. Canadiens rearguard in Ryan Merkley was selected first by the Guelph Storm in 2016. Prior to that, Jr. Canadiens blue line standout Jakob Chychrun was selected first overall by the Sarnia Sting in 2014.

Former winners of the Jack Ferguson Award include:
2019 Shane Wright, Kingston Frontenacs
2018 Quinton Byfield, Sudbury Wolves
2017 Ryan Suzuki, Barrie Colts
2016 Ryan Merkley, Guelph Storm
2015 David Levin, Sudbury Wolves
2014  Jakob Chychrun, Sarnia Sting
2013  Travis Konecny, Ottawa 67’s
2012  Connor McDavid, Erie Otters
2011  Aaron Ekblad, Barrie Colts
2010  Alex Galchenyuk, Sarnia Sting
2009  Daniel Catenacci, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
2008 John McFarland, Sudbury Wolves
2007 Ryan O’Reilly, Erie Otters
2006 Steven Stamkos, Sarnia Sting
2005 John Tavares, Oshawa Generals
2004 John Hughes, Belleville Bulls
2003 Patrick McNeill, Saginaw Spirit
2002 Robbie Schremp, Mississauga IceDogs
2001 Patrick O’Sullivan,Mississauga IceDogs
2000 Patrick Jarrett, Mississauga IceDogs
1999 Jason Spezza, Mississauga IceDogs
1998 Jay Harrison, Brampton Battalion
1997 Charlie Stephens, Toronto St. Michael’s Majors
1996 Rico Fata, London Knights
1995 Daniel Tkaczuk, Barrie Colts
1994 Jeff Brown, Sarnia Sting
1993 Alyn McCauley, Ottawa 67’s
1992 Jeff O’Neill, Guelph Storm
1991 Todd Harvey, Detroit Ambassadors
1990 Pat Peake, Detroit Ambassadors
1989 Eric Lindros, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
1988 Drake Berehowsky, Kingston Raiders
1987 John Uniac, Sudbury Wolves
1986 Troy Mallette, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
1985 Bryan Fogarty, Kingston Canadians
1984 Dave Moylan, Sudbury Wolves
1983 Trevor Stienburg, Guelph Platers
1982 Kirk Muller, Guelph Platers
1981 Dan Quinn, Belleville Bulls

2020 OHL Awards announcements continue on Wednesday when the League reveals its Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy recipient as Overage Player of the Year.

For full coverage of the 2020 OHL Awards, be sure to visit or follow along on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

About the Ontario Hockey League
The Ontario Hockey League is a proud member of the Canadian Hockey League which is the world’s largest development hockey league with 60 teams in nine Canadian provinces and four American states. In addition to the OHL, the CHL is made up of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Western Hockey League. The CHL supplies more players to the National Hockey League and U SPORTS than any other league. For more information visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s