Toronto, Ont. – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the Board of Governors’ approval for the Transfer of Ownership of the Guelph Storm Hockey Club from current owners Rick Gaetz, Scott Walker, Rick Hoyle and John Heeley to Toronto businessmen Joel Feldberg and Jeffrey Bly. The transfer of ownership is effective immediately.

The Storm franchise began as the Toronto Marlboros before a brief two-year stint as the Dukes of Hamilton, arriving in Guelph in 1991. The Storm have enjoyed great success, winning four OHL championships, two of which came under the guidance of the current ownership group as the club hoisted the J. Ross Robertson Cup in 2014 and 2019.

“On behalf of the Ontario Hockey League and our Board of Governors I would like to acknowledge the contributions made by Storm Governor Rick Gaetz and the rest of the Guelph ownership group consisting of Scott Walker, Rick Hoyle and John Heeley. Throughout their tenure, the Storm have remained a competitive force on the ice and done tremendous things in the Guelph community,” said OHL Commissioner David Branch. “We are excited to welcome Joel Feldberg and Jeffrey Bly to the OHL family.”

“This was an extremely difficult decision,” commented Rick Gaetz, who was named the OHL’s Executive of the Year in 2010. “I can speak for the entire ownership group when I say that we will miss the Storm very much. We are proud of what we have all achieved on the ice and in the great community of Guelph. It has been a sincere privilege to be a part of this great League and tremendous city.”

Incoming Storm Owners Joel Feldberg and Jeffrey Bly are the President/CEO and Senior Vice President respectively of The Global Furniture Group of companies.

“We are eager to get involved with the team, the League and the community of Guelph,” said Feldberg. “I want to thank the current ownership group for this opportunity. The Storm have always been an integral part of the community and we look forward to carrying out that legacy.”

The Storm return to the ice for pre-season action on Sunday in Mississauga at 2:00pm, squaring off against the Steelheads in a rescheduled matchup that was previously postponed last Sunday. Their next home action comes Friday, September 24th against the Niagara IceDogs at 7:30pm. The Storm open their 2021-22 regular season in Kitchener on Friday, October 8th before hosting the Rangers in their home opener at the Sleeman Centre on Saturday, October 9th at 7:00pm.

About the Ontario Hockey League
The Ontario Hockey League is a proud member of the Canadian Hockey League which is the world’s largest development hockey league with 60 teams in nine Canadian provinces and four American states. In addition to the OHL, the CHL is made up of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Western Hockey League. The CHL supplies more players to the National Hockey League and U SPORTS than any other league.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s