OHL Announces 2021-22 Red Tilson Trophy Nominees

Toronto, Ont. – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the 20 nominees for the Red Tilson Trophy submitted by OHL member teams as their Most Outstanding Player during the 2021-22 regular season. The Red Tilson Trophy is voted on by the sports writers and broadcasters of the Ontario Hockey League.

The Red Tilson Trophy is the most prestigious individual award presented by the Ontario Hockey League. First presented in 1945, the trophy is named in honour of Albert “Red” Tilson, who was killed in action in Europe during World War II. Tilson was the OHA scoring champion for the 1942-43 season after scoring 19 goals and 38 assists for 57 points in 22 games with the Oshawa Generals.

Accredited media will be asked to select their top choice from 10 nominees in each conference. The candidate in each conference receiving the highest number of accumulative votes will be recognized as the Most Outstanding Player in their respective conference, and emerge as a finalist for the Red Tilson Trophy.

Recent Red Tilson Trophy recipients include forward Marco Rossi (Ottawa 2020), goaltender Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen (Sudbury 2019), forward Jordan Kyrou (Sarnia 2018), forward Alex DeBrincat (Erie 2017), forward Mitchell Marner (London 2016) and forward Connor McDavid (Erie 2015).

The Red Tilson Trophy winner is the OHL’s nominee for Canadian Hockey League Player of the Year honours.

Most Outstanding Player of the Year / Red Tilson Trophy Nominees:

Eastern Conference:
Barrie Colts – Brandt Clarke
Hamilton Bulldogs – Mason McTavish
Kingston Frontenacs – Shane Wright
Mississauga Steelheads – Ethan Del Mastro
Niagara IceDogs – Danil Gushchin
North Bay Battalion – Brandon Coe
Oshawa Generals – Ty Tullio
Ottawa 67’s – Vinzenz Rohrer
Peterborough Petes – Tucker Robertson
Sudbury Wolves – Mitchell Weeks

Western Conference:
Erie Otters – Daniel D’Amato
Flint Firebirds – Brennan Othmann
Guelph Storm – Sasha Pastujov
Kitchener Rangers – Francesco Pinelli
London Knights – Luke Evangelista
Owen Sound Attack – Deni Goure
Saginaw Spirit – Pavel Mintyukov
Sarnia Sting – Ben Gaudreau
Soo Greyhounds – Rory Kerins
Windsor Spitfires – Wyatt Johnston


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s