Toronto, Ont. – The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Dallas Stars prospect Wyatt Johnston of the Windsor Spitfires is the 2021-22 recipient of the William Hanley Trophy awarded to the OHL’s Most Sportsmanlike Player.

The OHL’s Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy recipient with 124 points (46-78–124) over 68 games, Johnston recorded just 26 penalty minutes in the process, being voted the Western Conference’s Most Outstanding Player by the League’s General Managers. He becomes the first Spitfires player to earn OHL Most Sportsmanlike honours since Kyle Wellwood in 2002-03.

“It feels really good, it’s a big honour to receive this recognition,” said Johnston. “It’s a special award and it is great to win in this league with a lot of very talented and high character players.”

An 18-year-old from Toronto, Ont., Johnston finished with 42 multi-point performances on the campaign including four different games with at least four points. His 124 points are the fifth-highest total in Spitfires franchise history, trailing Ernie Godden (153 points, 1980-81), Bill Bowler (135 points, 1994-95), Kelly Cain (133 points, 1987-88) and Blair Barnes (130 points (1979-80).

“Wyatt was the best player in our league and plays the right way every shift,” said Spitfires general manager Bill Bowler. “He is ultra competitive yet respects the game, his opponent and the officials. He is a true Spitfire.”

The William Hanley Trophy is awarded each year based on a selection by the 20 General Managers of the Ontario Hockey League.  All 20 teams submit a nominee but are not permitted to vote for their own candidate. The trophy is presented by the OHL to commemorate William Hanley, former Secretary-Manager of the Ontario Hockey Association for over 25 years.

Johnston follows Wellwood as the second player in Spitfires franchise history to earn the award.  Current NHL players to have been awarded the William Hanley Trophy include Nick Robertson (Peterborough 2020), three-time winner Nick Suzuki (Owen Sound/Guelph 2017, ’18, ’19), Mike Amadio (North Bay 2016), Dylan Strome (Erie 2015), Connor McDavid (Erie 2014), Brandon Saad (Saginaw 2012) and Jeff Carter (Sault Ste. Marie 2005).

Johnston will be the OHL’s nominee for CHL Sportsman of the Year, edging out Eastern Conference finalist Shane Wright of the Kingston Frontenacs in the final voting.

About the Ontario Hockey League
The Ontario Hockey League is a proud member of the Canadian Hockey League which is the world’s largest development hockey league with 60 teams in nine Canadian provinces and four American states. In addition to the OHL, the CHL is made up of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Western Hockey League. The CHL supplies more players to the National Hockey League and U SPORTS than any other league.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s