Toronto, Ont. – The Ontario Hockey League today announced scheduling scenarios for the 2022 OHL Championship Series for the J. Ross Robertson Cup.

The Eastern Conference champion Hamilton Bulldogs await the winner of a Western Conference Championship Series Game 7 matchup between the host Windsor Spitfires and Flint Firebirds who play for the Wayne Gretzky Trophy tonight.

The OHL Championship Series will be aired in its entirety on CHL TV, with Bulldogs home broadcasts for Games 1 and 2 carried on Cable 14 in Hamilton and across the province on the OHL Action Pak.

Games 3-through-7 of the OHL Championship Series will be broadcast on TSN, with play-by-play voice Jon Abbott joining colour commentator and analyst Craig Button in the broadcast booth.

The Hamilton Bulldogs advance to the OHL Championship Series following three consecutive series sweeps, becoming the third team in OHL history to start the postseason with a perfect 12-0 record. The Bulldogs claimed the Hamilton Spectator Trophy as regular season champions in 2021-22, playing to a record of 51-12-3-2.

The Windsor Spitfires are in the hunt for their fourth Robertson Cup title following previous OHL championships in 1988, 2009 and 2010. The 44-17-4-3 Spitfires were West Division champions this past season for the first time since 2010.

The Flint Firebirds have their sights set on appearing in their first-ever OHL Championship Series. Flint played to a club record 42-21-1-4 mark during the regular season as the Firebirds have reached the Western Conference Championship Series for the first time in their history.

The Robertson Cup is emblematic of the Ontario Hockey League’s championship series.  The Cup was presented by J. Ross Robertson, who was president of the Ontario Hockey Association from 1901 to 1905.  Since its inception, the Robertson Cup has been won by 29 different teams with the Oshawa Generals leading the way with 13 championships including a record seven straight from 1938-44.

The winner of the Rogers OHL Championship Series will advance to the 2022 Memorial Cup presented by Kia which takes place June 20-29 in Saint John, New Brunswick and also features the host Saint John Sea Dogs along with the champions from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Western Hockey League.


SCENARIO 1 – (1E) HAMILTON BULLDOGS (51-12-3-2) vs. (1W) WINDSOR SPITFIRES (44-17-4-3)
If Windsor wins tonight
Game 1, Fri., June 3 at Hamilton, 7:00pm
Game 2 , Sun., June 5 at Hamilton, 2:00pm
Game 3, Mon., June 6 at Windsor, 7:00pm
Game 4, Fri., June 10 at Windsor, 7:00pm
Game 5, Sun., June 12 at Hamilton, 2:00pm*
Game 6, Mon., June 13 at Windsor, 7:00pm*
Game 7, Wed., June 15 at Hamilton, 7:00pm*
*if necessary

SCENARIO 2 – (1E) HAMILTON BULLDOGS (51-12-3-2) vs. (3W) FLINT FIREBIRDS (42-21-1-4)
If Flint wins tonight
Game 1, Fri., June 3 at Hamilton, 7:00pm
Game 2, Sun., June 5 at Hamilton, 7:00pm
Game 3, Wed., June 8 at Flint, 7:00pm
Game 4, Fri., June 10 at Flint, 7:00pm
Game 5, Sun., June 12 at Hamilton, 7:00pm*
Game 6, Tues., June 14 at Flint, 7:00pm*
Game 7, Wed., June 15 at Hamilton, 7:00pm*
*if necessary

2022 OHL Playoff Brackets

Don’t miss a second of the 2022 OHL Championship Series. CHL TV packages are on sale now at watch.chl.ca.

About the Ontario Hockey League
The Ontario Hockey League is a proud member of the Canadian Hockey League which is the world’s largest development hockey league with 60 teams in nine Canadian provinces and four American states. In addition to the OHL, the CHL is made up of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Western Hockey League. The CHL supplies more players to the National Hockey League and U SPORTS than any other league.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s