Toronto, Ont. – With the 2023 OHL Cup Championship Final underway, the Ontario Hockey League has announced the seven recipients of 2023 U16 AAA Player of the Year Awards for players representing the four Ontario Hockey Federation Member Partners including the ALLIANCE, Greater Toronto Hockey League, Northern Ontario Hockey Association, and both the Ontario Minor Hockey Association’s ETA and SCTA regions, along with Hockey Eastern Ontario and Hockey Northwestern Ontario.

This year’s winners include forward Ryan Roobroeck of the London Jr. Knights (ALLIANCE), forward William Moore of the Toronto Marlboros (GTHL), forward Owen Griffin of the York-Simcoe Express (OMHA – ETA), defenceman Matthew Schaefer of the Halton Hurricanes (OMHA – SCTA), forward Hudson Chitaroni of the Soo Jr. Greyhounds U18 (NOHA), forward Carter Poddubny of the Thunder Bay Kings (HNO) and blueliner Quinn Beauchesne of the Nepean Raiders U18 (HEO).

“Congratulations to the recipients of this year’s awards and thank you to the families, coaches, and teammates for their tremendous support of these remarkable players over the course of the season and throughout their minor hockey careers,” said Brodie Barrick, the OHL’s Director of Recruitment and Player Services.

“The OHL continues to recognize all the hard work, dedication, and extraordinary accomplishments from across Ontario. We thank all players for another great season and wish them the very best of luck in their hockey and academic careers.”

London Jr. Knights star Ryan Roobroeck led the ALLIANCE with 50 goals and 78 points in just 29 games to join other past Jr. Knights standouts in Bryce McConnell-Barker (2020), Ryan Suzuki (2017), Nick Suzuki (2015) and Jared McCann (2012) in claiming the annual honour. William Moore of the Toronto Marlboros posted two points-per-game for the GTHL champions, racking up 60 points (23-37–60) in 30 contests. York-Simcoe Express forward Owen Griffin is this year’s OMHA ETA award winner after leading the league with an impressive 94 points including 35 goals and 43 assists over 35 games. Griffin proceeded to amass 28 points (17-11–28) in just eight playoff games. The OMHA’s SCTA circuit sees defenceman Matthew Schaefer claim this year’s Player of the Year honour, putting up 12 goals, 20 assists and 32 points in 25 games for the Halton Hurricanes. Another defenceman earned the HEO’s top honours as Nepean Raiders rearguard Quinn Beauchesne collected 35 points (8-27–35) over 28 games playing against older competition in the U18 AAA league. Soo Jr. Greyhounds forward Hudson Chitaroni also excelled at the U18 level, recording 22 goals, 26 assists and 48 points in 28 games in the Great North Under-18 League, earning NOHA Player of the Year recognition. Lastly, Thunder Bay Kings forward Carter Poddubny picks up HNO Player of the Year honours, recording 25 points (9-16–25) in 35 games.

The awards are presented annually to honour the U16 AAA players who best exemplify outstanding ability and the qualities of sportsmanship and leadership as selected by a panel of Ontario Hockey League general managers.

Past Award Winners:

ALLIANCE Player of the Year:
2023 – Ryan Roobroeck, London Jr. Knights
2022 – Lucas Karmiris, Brantford 99ers
2020 – Bryce McConnell-Barker, London Jr. Knights
2019 – Deni Goure, Chatham-Kent Cyclones
2018 – Matthew Maggio, Sun County Panthers
2017 – Ryan Suzuki, London Jr. Knights
2016 – Owen Lalonde, Windsor Jr. Spitfires
2015 – Nick Suzuki, London Jr. Knights
2014 – Anthony Salinitri, Windsor Jr. Spitfires
2013 – Travis Konecny, Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs
2012 – Jared McCann, London Jr. Knights Gold
2011 – Bo Horvat, Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs

GTHL Player of the Year:
2023 – William Moore, Toronto Marlboros
2022 – Malcolm Spence, Mississauga Senators
2020 – Pano Fimis, Toronto Jr. Canadiens
2019 – Shane Wright, Don Mills Flyers
2018 – Jamie Drysdale, Toronto Marlboros
2017 – Nick Porco, Vaughan Kings
2016 – Ryan Merkley, Toronto Jr. Canadiens
2015 – Ryan McLeod, Toronto Marlboros
2014 – Adam Mascherin, Vaughan Kings
2013 – Dylan Strome, Toronto Marlboros
2012 – Connor McDavid, Toronto Marlboros
2011 – Nick Ritchie, Toronto Marlboros

NOHA Player of the Year:
2023 – Hudson Chitaroni, Soo Jr. Greyhounds
2022 – Nolan Newton, Sudbury Nickel Capitals
2020 – Connor Toms, Soo Jr. Greyhounds
2019 – Chase Stillman, Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves
2018 – Pacey Schlueting, North Bay Trappers
2017 – Camaryn Baber, Soo Midget Greyhounds
2016 – Damien Giroux, Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves
2015 – Cayse Ton, New Liskeard Cubs
2014 – Zach Dorval, Soo Thunder
2013 – Blake Speers, Soo Thunder
2012 – Michael Amadio, Sault Ste. Marie North Stars
2011 – Ryan Kujawinski, Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves

OMHA ETA Player of the Year:
2023 – Owen Griffin, York-Simcoe Express
2022 – Ethan Procyszyn, North Central Predators
2020 – Donovan McCoy, Quinte Red Devils
2019 – Brenden Sirizzotti, Whitby Wildcats
2018 – Quinton Byfield, York Simcoe Express
2017 – Alex Newhook, York Simcoe Express
2016 – Aidan Dudas, North Central Predators
2015 – Brady Gilmour, Quinte Red Devils
2014 – Chris Paquette, Greater Kingston Jr Frontenacs

OMHA SCTA Player of the Year:
2023 – Matthew Schaefer, Halton Hurricanes
2022 – Luca Testa, Niagara North Stars
2020 – Sam Alfano, Southern Tier Admirals
2019 – Lawson Sherk, Halton Hurricanes
2018 – Cameron Tolnai, Oakville Rangers
2017 – Matthew Dunsmoor, Guelph Jr. Gryphons
2016 – Adam McMaster, Niagara North Stars
2015 – Liam Stevens, Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs
2014 – Rylee St. Onge, Niagara North Stars

*prior to 2014 there was a single OMHA Player of the Year award recipient

Past OMHA Players of the Year:
2013 – Matt Spencer, Oakville Rangers*
2012 – Nik Coric, York Simcoe Express*
2011 – Alex Yuill, Quinte Red Devils*

HEO Player of the Year:
2023 – Quinn Beauchesne, Nepean Raiders
2022 – Cole Beaudoin, Nepean Raiders
2020 – Cedrick Guindon, Rockland Nationals
2019 – Mason McTavish, Pembroke Lumber Kings
2018 – Josh Barnes, Cornwall Colts
2017 – Alexandre Hogue, Cumberland Grads
2016 – Paul Larabie, Nepean Raiders
2015 – Gabriel Vilardi, CIH Academy
2014 – William Bitten, Ottawa Jr. 67’s
2013 – Andrew Peski, Ottawa Jr. 67’s
2012 – Andrew Abou-Assaly, Ottawa Jr. 67’s
2011 – Nicholas Baptiste, Ottawa Senators

HNO Player of the Year:
2023 – Carter Poddubny, Thunder Bay Kings
2020 – Brodie McLeod, Thunder Bay Kings
2019 – Jack Michaelis, Thunder Bay Kings
2018 – Michael Stubbs, Thunder Bay Kings
2017 – Christian Cicigoi, Thunder Bay Kings
2016 – Quintin Loon-Stewardson, Thunder Bay Kings
2015 – Kyle Auger, Thunder Bay Kings
2014 – Brad Belisle, Thunder Bay Kings
2013 – Zach Grzelewski, Thunder Bay Kings
2012 – Bryce Martyn, Thunder Bay Kings
2011 – Nolan Nicholas, Thunder Bay Kings

For more information please visit www.ohlcup.ca.

About the Ontario Hockey League
The Ontario Hockey League is a proud member of the Canadian Hockey League which is the world’s largest development hockey league with 60 teams in nine Canadian provinces and four American states. In addition to the OHL, the CHL is made up of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Western Hockey League. The CHL supplies more players to the National Hockey League and U SPORTS than any other league.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s