Team USA Announces Roster for the World Junior Championships

As is always the case with tournaments such as this, sometimes who is left off the roster draws more attention than who makes the roster. It is no different this year with the Americans as multiple 50 goal scorer Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters) did not make the final cut. The questions, and controversy, began almost immediately.

American General Manager Jim Johannson had this to say”

“We’re excited about this group of players and the way in which they will maximize the style of hockey that head coach Bob Motzko wants the team to play. The talent level in the United States is among the best in the world and the difficulty we had identifying this year’s roster speaks to that. These players earned their way on to this roster and we’re looking forward to the tournament getting underway.”

Alex DeBrincat of the Erie Otters. Photo by Terry Wilson / OHL Images.
Alex DeBrincat of the Erie Otters. Photo by Terry Wilson / OHL Images.

With that said, the focus then should be on who is on the roster. Two OHL’ers made the American roster: Goaltender Tyler Parsons (London Knights) and forward Jeremy Bracco (Kitchener Rangers)

The Americans also named their leadership group. Luke Kunin (University of Wisconsin) will serve as Captain while Colin White (Boston College) and Charlie McAvoy (Boston University) will serve as Alternates.


Tyler Parsons (London Knights, OHL)

Jake Oettinger (Boston University, HEA)

Joseph Woll (Boston College, HEA)


Ryan Lindgren (University of Minnesota, Big 10)

Jack Ahcan (St Cloud State, NCHC)

Caleb Jones (Portland Winterhawks, WHL)

Casey Fitzgerald (Boston College, HEA)

Adam Fox (Harvard University, ECAC)

Charlie McAvoy (Boston University, HEA)

Joe Cecconi (University of Michigan, Big 10)


Luke Kunin (University of Wisconsin, Big 10)

Tanner Laczynski (Ohio State, Big 10)

Patrick Harper (Boston University, HEA)

Jordan Greenway (Boston University (HEA)

Joey Anderson (University of Minnesota Duluth, NCHC)

Erik Foley (Providence College, HEA)

Jeremy Bracco (Kitchener Rangers, OHL)

Colin White (Boston College, HEA)

Clayton Keller (Boston University, HEA)

Troy Terry (University of Denver, NCHC)

Kieffer Bellows (Boston University, HEA)

Jack Roslovic (Manitoba Moose, AHL)

Tage Thompson (University of Connecticut, HEA)